top of page

Key Stage 4

Key Stage 4: Years 10 and 11  

Learners continue to follow on from their curriculum experiences gained in Key Stage 3, whilst embarking on the opportunity to access accreditation from Entry Level up to GCSE and Level 2 qualifications in all subject areas.


It is intended that every learner in Key Stage 4 and 5 will leave Hardwick House School with a minimum of 5 qualifications, including a qualification in English and Maths, although the vast majority will leave with much more!


Whilst we hope that the majority of learners will be working towards GCSE, it may not always be appropriate.  As such, some learners will be working towards Entry Level Certificates or Functional English and Maths, whilst some learners will be dual entered for both Functional and GCSE examinations. 


Qualification currently available in Key Stage 4 include:

  • GCSE Maths

  • GCSE English Language

  • GCSE English Literature

  • GCSE Science Double Award (AQA Synergy, worth 2 GCSE's)

  • GCSE Art and Design

  • GCSE Food and Nutrition

  • GCSE Design and Technology

  • Level 1 and 2 Certificates in ICT

  • FCSE Level 1 Certificate in Spanish

  • Functional Skills Level 1 and 2 in English and Maths

  • Entry Level Certificates in Spanish, Maths and Science

Although qualifications are important, so are the skills required for adulthood. With this in mind, our Key Stage 4 learners also have timetabled lessons for Social Communication, PE, PSHCEE and Life Skills.

bottom of page